Monday, January 18, 2016

Yoga teacher progress- the 8 limbs of yoga

I'm half way through my 200 hour yoga teacher training. Throughout our studies, we have discussed the eight limbs of yoga. Simplified, I would put them as this:

1. Yamas: how to live with others (nonviolence, truthfulness)
2. Niyamas: how to live with yourself (contentment, cleanliness)
3. Asana: training the body
4. Pranayama: training the breath
5. Pratyahara: quietness, self-reflection
6. Dharana: focus
7. Dhyana: training the mind (meditation)
8. Samadhi: peace, living in tune with the divine (God)


No comments:

Post a Comment